Magnificent Gluten Free Spaghetti Dinner – Magnifica Cena Spaghetti Senza Glutine

I love pasta. I love Italian food. Now that my husband is trying to be gluten free and I prefer organic I’m finding that coming up with meals that align with both of our lifestyle choices and taste authentic a bit challenging. After much persistence and perseverance I think I’ve hit on a pretty close approximation of an acceptable Italian dinner. There are times when I have to remember that even Thomas Edison said “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work”.

Gluten Free Spaghetti with Organic Meat Sauce

Gluten Free Spaghetti with Mostly Organic Meat Sauce

 

Mostly Organic Italian Pasta Sauce with Meat

(This makes a gallon of sauce so I can what is left over in glass jars in a pressure canner but it can be frozen also)

Home Canned Mostly Organic Pasta Sauce with Meat

Home Canned Mostly Organic Pasta Sauce with Meat

In a large stainless steel 6 quart pan put enough Organic Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Olive Oil to coat bottom. This amount will vary depending on the fat content of the meat you use.

Brown and crumble in Organic Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Olive Oil to brown ground meat

1 pound of organic 99% lean ground beef

¾ pound ground Cudighi or sweet Italian sausage (casing removed)

ADD

1 organic yellow bell pepper (seeded and diced)

1 medium organic sweet yellow onion (peeled and diced)

1 – 8 ounce package organic portabella mushrooms (minced or sliced)

½ cup organic sweet red wine (I make my own but you can use Marsala or Port)

3 cloves garlic (peeled and pressed thru a garlic press or finely minced)

½ teaspoon organic red pepper flakes

2 tablespoons organic turbinado sugar

1 tablespoon beef soup base powder or granules

2 tablespoons organic dried Italian flat leaf parsley

2 tablespoons organic dried sweet basil

SIMMER STIRRING OCCASSIONALLY UNTIL VEGETABLES ARE TENDER THEN ADD

3 quarts of canned tomatoes in their juice (blended in a blender)

3 – 8 ounce cans of any brand of organic tomato paste.

sea salt to taste

SIMMER UNTIL REDUCED TO DESIRED THICKNESS. COOK GLUTEN FREE PASTA ACCORDING TO DIRECTIONS ON PACKAGE. I USE THE PASTA PICTURED BELOW AND GOT IT AT WALMART.

Tinkyada Brown Rice Spaghetti

Tinkyada Brown Rice Spaghetti

WHEN READY TO PLATE TOP WITH FRESH GRATED ASIAGO CHEESE

Fresh grated Asiago Cheese

Fresh grated Asiago Cheese

Serve with Garlic Bread made from My Gluten Free Bread Recipe and an organic toss salad. Stay tuned for my Italian salad dressing mix recipe coming soon. For those who prefer a creamy dressing try My Ranch Dressing Recipe.

 

Enjoy! Here is one of my favorite quotes to start your day!!

“Peace is not the absence of turmoil but the presence of God”

 

 

One thought on “Magnificent Gluten Free Spaghetti Dinner – Magnifica Cena Spaghetti Senza Glutine

  1. Pingback: Nanna’s Italian Salad Dressing Mix | Gettin Back to Basics

Leave a Reply

