Oh Kefir … How Do I Love Thee … Let Me Count The Ways

Recently my Daughter-in-Law Nancy introduced me to kefir (a cultured milk product). Being an avid buttermilk and Greek yogurt user, the wheels immediately began to turn. She gave me a portion of her starter grains and a couple of simple (I’m sensing a theme forming here) rules.  Feed it, don’t use metal utensils with it and mostly enjoy it. That was a month ago and I have made Kefir almost daily since.  I keep my kefir grains in a glass canning jar. Each night I pour milk over them and cover it with a paper coffee filter to keep out contaminants, let them stand at room temperature for about 24 hours.  The next night I strain the grains with a nylon strainer into another jar, put the grains in a clean jar and fill with milk and put it back on the counter.  I either use the kefir right away or put a plastic cap on it and store it in the fridge. I’ve used Kefir in place of buttermilk and even regular milk in my recipes with outstanding results. If I need to take a break from making Kefir I just pour fresh milk over the grains and store it with a plastic lid on it in the fridge. It will last for a couple of weeks but if you are like me you won’t be able to go that long without making more!

Today I’m combining the great taste of sourdough with Kefir to make some of the best waffles Mother Nature can provide. I’ll start the process and let her take over. Simplicity is great.  It’s kind of like having a chef in the house.

Figure 1 - Sourdough Kefir Waffles

DONNA’S SOURDOUGH WAFFLES

Before you go to bed you will need to combine in a large bowl:

1 Cup of unfed sourdough starter

1 ½ Cups of unbleached organic white flour

½ Cup of stone ground whole wheat flour

1 Cup of Milk

1 Cup of Kefir

1 Tablespoons of honey

Stir well, cover and let stand overnight (about 8 hours)

In the morning combine in a small bowl:

2 Large organic eggs

¼ Cup Grape seed oil (or oil of your choice)

½ teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

Add egg mixture to sourdough mixture and stir well. Pour by 1/3 cupful onto a greased preheated waffle iron or pancake griddle if you prefer. Cook until golden brown (when the steam dissipates).

Leave a Reply

